Patience Eludes Me

photo-83

I’ve never had much talent for patience. Having children has brought this into blindingly sharp focus. I have some hope that patience can be built, in the way of muscle, but I don’t have much in the way of personal results to stand as evidence. The worst part of my patience problem is that I spend every last bit of what I’ve got on the boys. And…. I have a three year old and an almost two year old. So, yeah. There’s not going to be a surplus. Ever.

Where does that leave everyone else I encounter? In trouble. That’s where. I’m the worst on myself, although my wife runs a close second. It’s awful really.

The last two weeks have been an adventure. We’ve had some high-highs and some low-lows. Mostly highs really. Nana and Pops came to visit, followed by a quick trip from Grandpa and then our oldest, bestest friends came to town with their two girls. We have zoo-d and blown bubbles and kicked balls in the yard and had many of those (much needed) “you really get me” kinds of conversations. All of that has been lovely and affirming and just in time. Unfortunately an extremely disgusting stomach bug has been woven through every last bit of the good stuff. This means that there has also been oh.so.much vomit and laundry and scrubbing and pedialyte and applesauce and anticipatory nausea and even more actual nausea. Of the 11 people who have been in my house recently, only 4 have been spared.

I’m sharing all of this because it struck me that a more well-adjusted person might allow themselves a moment to recover. I am clearly not that person. All I could do yesterday was maniacally clean my house and berate myself for the too-much-mimosa-and-monkey-bread state I found myself in after a neighborhood egg hunt. That and a looping question related to how a person could have a stomach bug and not lose weight?  It’s obvious to me that a little self-gentleness is in order, but I can’t seem to find it. At least not for myself. It’s ridiculous really and I’m getting too old for this.

I do however have new glasses! Rose colored glasses. I probably need to put those on!

4 thoughts on “Patience Eludes Me

  1. Those glasses are gorgeous. And I agree that some self-gentleness is in order. Being on the same side of things myself lately, I know how hard it is to take one’s own advice. I hope you can!

  2. First of all, as you know, we are a family who enjoys some funky glasses. Those are fabulous.
    Secondly, I have been in those loops many times. I hope there is a good book or a good run or a good snuggle that can help you find the escape route.

  3. You are lovely. Truly. Put on those fantastic specs and have someone take a picture of you (for us) and for yourself. So that you can see how lovely and deserving you are; of rest and patience.

  4. Lovely glasses indeed and so apropos. Sorry about that stomach bug. The worst! You’re allowed to lose patience with it and to take it easy on recovery. Self gentleness, great term.

Leave a Reply

