This Moment

  • I just made a smoothie with mango, basil and cinnamon and I’ve got 30 minutes until I pick up the boys from school. At drop off this morning, no one cried. All of this means, life is good.
  • My wife has begun making a list of the things we need to do before the new baby comes. No one is pregnant.  I am thinking this list is not hypothetical. It may even exist somewhere on paper.
  • After falling hard for his voice as a high schooler I will soon be in the same room with Pat Conroy. I can hardly believe it myself. I get to hear the man read. In person.
  • It’s Halloween and not even the impending rain can dampen my excitement. I mean, I get to hang with these people.

IMG_1349

  • I just finished How to Talk so Kids will Listen & Listen so Kids will Talk (Adele Faber) and I’m all in. What an excellent resource. I’m going to start from the beginning and make some notes soon so I don’t forget it all immediately. Cannot recommend this one highly enough.
  • After playing with the idea for years and years, I’ve finally started my own Memoir book club! We’re starting with Abigail Thomas’s A Three Dog Life.
  • Although their shirt sizes have some spread, the boys are very close to the same pants size. Oh Yogi, my sub 30 lb three-year old.
  • Potty training has proven itself an effective strategy for facing not just Yogi’s shit, but my own. Struggle is a generous giver, isn’t it? More on this soon.
  • We’ve got letters on the brain around here. Yogi is very enthusiastic about each and every Y he encounters. All this wordiness just makes my heart sing.
  • We have moved a pack and play into Yogi’s room. For Monkey. The new set-up happened yesterday and we’re looking at a mid-week kick-off. Room sharing here we come. Intimated by the potential for chaos, but excited. Mostly excited. For now.
4 thoughts on “This Moment

  1. So many good things on this list. I wish I could be a part of your book club.

    Indeed, struggle is a generous giver…so well said. And potty training! It’s a complicated dance.
    TTC #3?? EEE!

  2. Bullets (in the form of *) : *We also have a sub 30 lb three year old. That is crazy, right? Little peanuts.
    * Man. Pat Conroy. I read all of his books in high school, thinking it would help me understand my dad. This was also the end of my “I wanna go to the Naval Academy” phase. This could be related to The Lords of Discipline, my experiences in pre-cal and calculus, and/or a multitude of other things. And, could ASC be any more different than the Naval Academy? Not really.

Leave a Reply

