Here & There

IMG_0965

I can’t explain why this is my favorite picture of the moment, but it is.

Why should I write only when I have thoughtfully crafted things to say? Rubbish! Down with coherence and up with rambling!

JOYFUL THINGS

  • This summer we’ve started taking family showers (we have a good size one with a door) and I’m in love. It’s immensely practical as all four of us have to get a shower in before bed (the boys and I spend much of our day outside and my wife usually takes the boys outside to play after dinner which involves lots of yucky bug spray) and doing the boys together and each of us separately takes some time. It also allows the boys to splash and throw water and be as messy as they please bc it’s a shower, the water stays right where it belongs. As the Monk has gotten more exuberant, bathing was becoming a real splash fest and as much as I wanted to be cool with it, it was driving me crazy. Now we just haul all of our cups and bottles and ducks in with us and everyone is happy. Happy and cute.
  • My wife and I are running off to New York to get married next month!!! Yahoo!!! The boys will be staying with Muzzie and Grandpa and we are going to make this thing as official as it’s possible to be.
  • After not participating in National Novel Writing Month for two years, I’m dipping my toes in with Camp NaNoWriMo this month. Camp is more laid back, with the opportunity to write whatever you want (screenplay, poetry collection, not just a novel) using however many words you want (50K is not your only option). So…. I set the bar low (25K) and so far I’m right on track. I’m playing with my own stories and learning that memoir is a really interesting form.
  • I’m playing in the kitchen again! At least one person at this house (can you guess who?) LOVES to eat and I’m remembering how satisfying it is to cook for someone who actually eats food. Yes, Yogi. This one is on you. I’m hoping that the Monk’s eagerness to try anything and everything will rub off on his brother. Probably wishful thinking

NOT EVEN REMOTELY JOYFUL THINGS

  • The potty. That’s all I’m saying for now. More later.
  • Night weaning with the Monk. There are no words.
  • I am without a good book and have been for weeks now. I’ve started and abandoned probably fifteen books in as many days. I’ve got some interesting non-fiction going, but I’m dying for story. I need a world to get lost in. Anyone have ideas?? I’d be happy to reciprocate.
19 thoughts on “Here & There

  1. We are quite enjoying Night Circus on audio book (driving to FL and back gives you a lot of time in the car to listen). We will finish it this week on our drives to/ from the beach (only 3 hours, hurray!). I’m certain it would read much faster than that.

    What are you cooking? Please share!

  2. Are you down with fantasy? If so The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is really wonderfully written. It’s the first of a trilogy and the third isn’t out yet so there’s be more to look forward to! I second the Night Circus and I’ve heard great things about Code Name Verity.

  3. I hear you on the night weaning. So not fun (but neither is being used as an all night buffet station, either!).

    I have no book recommendations but will look into everyone else’s suggestions!

  4. I thought Wild was a good book as well, and second that recommendation. As for as a good “story”, the characters in Carl Hiaasen are perfect for summer. I’m not sure if you’ve given him a shot, but he can build a funny scene like no one else.

  5. I love these joyful things. Did you ever finish Arcadia? Thoughts? Just trying to get a sense of your preferences… Have you read McEwan’s Saturday? For lots of reasons, I think it might speak to you. And give me a novel! I’ll start it next; no questions asked.

  6. Ten Thousand Saints by Eleanor Henderson. Feast of Love by Charles Baxter. Eleanor & Park is YA, but heartbreaking and beautiful. Also Nything by Stacey D’Erasmo, who is one of my very favorites.

    Congrats on your NY wedding!

  7. Married!! Yay! So excited for you both. That is beyond wonderful!

    Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers is a mesmerizing love story. But prepare yourself. When Mom and I were reading it we could barely put it down to eat, sleep, work. 🙂

    Ditto on the potty. That.is.all.

  8. Congrats on the trip to NY to get married! That is VERY exciting! No book recommendations – I can’t get three pages read at night these days!

  9. I’m so excited for your wedding! I do hope you’ll tell us about it and post photos too. (Yay for America making some progress on this front!)

    I’ve just started Khaled Hosseini’s newest book. I LOVE his writing. Rohinton Mistry is another favourite author of mine. His book A Fine Balance may be my favourite ever. A second favourite is The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. So, so good.

  10. Congrats on the wedding!!! I hear you on potty training. And night weaning. Oh, gawds.

    Books: I loved, and I mean loved, Kate Atkinson’s “Life After Life,” which was nominated for the Women’s Prize for Fiction this year along with another one I loved, “Where’d You Go, Bernadette?” by Maria Semple. Both complex but also fun, page-turny. (Well, Atkinson’s book isn’t exactly FUN, I guess, but definitely gripping). You’ve probably read it, but I just re-read Ann Patchett’s “State of Wonder” because SO GOOD. For literary but detective-y (how’s that for a genre description?): Tana French, Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie books, Laura Lippman. This came out a little while ago, but Allegra Goodman’s “The Cookbook Collector” (not a great title) was surprisingly moving and lovely and thought provoking. If you haven’t read her “Intuition,” I highly recommend that too. Erm, well, I could go on. 🙂

  11. If you want a good, fluffy fiction, I’m reading “Under the Never Sky” (well, actually I’ve read it and now am onto the 2nd in the series). So so so good. Also, The Mortal Instruments was pretty awesome (the author used to be heavily involved in the Harry Potter fanfic world, and I’d read everything she wrote as a teenager). Insurgent and Divergent (two separate books, same series). My wife is reading a lot of post-apocalyptic right now, but all very very good. She got a Kindle last year for her birthday and turned into an absolute bookworm, suddenly went from reading 2-3 books a year to just under 200 (!!!). Under the Never Sky is her hands down favourite series. All these books have badass female protagonists too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

