Not Entirely Dark

2013 is off to an unfortunately winterish kind of start. The weather has been dark and rainy, although strangely warm, and the sad news has been rolling in. My wife’s grandmother passed away late last week and we’ve made an impromptu trip to Muzzie and Grandpa’s house. The rain followed us here and with it the news that Dad’s lymphoma is back. His appointment to discuss the situation with his oncologist is later this morning. For now, I’m just scared. I’m scared and it’s raining.

But I’m not alone with it. As I type this, Yogi and my wife are (loudly) making pancakes, Monkey is napping (write that one down), Muzzie is setting the table and Grandpa is on dog cleaning duty after a wet morning walk. It’s not entirely dark. It never really is.

photo-49

Monkey demonstrating how he prefers to nap. It’s good to be at Grandpa’s house!

 

8 thoughts on “Not Entirely Dark

  1. I’m right there with you. Holding you up. Got news that my cousin passed away on Sunday… I’m really not ready for 2013 to look like 2012. So, I’m going to put it out there: your dad will kick some lymphoma ass, our children will get well/be well, and no one else will leave us. I just hope the universe is listening.

  2. This reminds me of a quote from one of my favourite authors:
    “If there was an abundance of misery in the world, there was also sufficient joy, yes – as long as one knew where to look for it.”
    ― Rohinton Mistry, A Fine Balance

Leave a Reply

